Sunday 7 September 2014

Nicholl Fellowship winning screenplays

As you probably already know, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences administers the annual Academy Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting. They are the top of the pops when it comes to screenwriting competitions worldwide. 

Notable past winners include: Max Adams, Allison Anders, Doug AtchisonRichard Cray, Destin Daniel Cretton, Susannah Grant, Ehren Kruger, Andrew W. Marlowe, Mike Rich, Creighton Rothenberger and Bragi Schut
In an enlightened move, the Academy have now made available some of the winning screenplays:
Gabrielle Burton: The Imperial Waltz
John Ciarlo: Bend in the River
Destin Cretton: Short Term 12
Greg Dawless: One Hour Development
Jodi Johnson: Mama & Me
Ehren Kruger: Arlington Road
Daniel Lawrence: The Gaza Golem
Jason Micallef: Butter
Dawn O’Leary: Island of Brilliance

1 comment:

Unknown said...

It is wonderful to be able to see top quality scripts, you learn so much from reading them. How depressing they are! Two are framed by people getting old and dying, two are uplifting at the end deviating in genre from the beginning, one has Joycean monologues, one has a man whose girlfriend dies and who never feels the rush of agonised fury, one takes on the politically thorny Middle East, one not only begins with a voice over but then changes to another voice (!) and the last one destroys the protagonist for no reason.